2014 MAMA Awards: Who wins tonight?

It is few minutes to one of the biggest music awards in
Africa- MTV Africa Music Awards (MAMA) . Already, top
contemporary artistes from across the continent and
beyond have been nominated in 15 different categories
including Best Male, Best Female, Song of the Year and
Artist of the Year and winners will emerge any time soon.


As stated on MTV Base, the official webiste organizer of
the prestigious occasion, the program was designed to
recognize and support young, emerging and original African
creative talents who use their imagination to fuel social
transformation and bring positive attention to the
In the first place in the nominations were South African
artists Mafikizolo and Uhuru, and Nigerian artist Davido,
who each scored 4 nominations while going directly head-
to-head for Song of the Year, Artist of the Year and Best
Collaboration. Following closely behind with 3 nominations
each were Nigerian artists P Square (Best Group, Artist of
the Year, Song of the Year), South Africa’s Mi Casa (Best
Group, Artist of the Year, Song of the Year), and Angolan
artist Yuri Da Cunha (Song of the Year, Best Lusophone
and Best Collaboration).  Hot on their heels with two nods
each were Angolan star Anselmo Ralph (Best Male, Best
Lusophone), Nigeria’s Wizkid (Best Male, Best
Collaboration); Gabonese artist Arielle T (Best Female,
Best Francophone) and Diamond from Tanzania (Best Male,
Best Collaboration).
Other artists from across the African contemporary music
spectrum nominated for the awards included: 2Face, AKA,
Amani, Beatenberg, Big Nuz, Burna Boy, Chidinma, Danny K,
Diamond, DJ Buckz, DJ Clock, DJ C’ndo, DJ Ganyani, DJ
Kent, The Arrows, Donald, Don Jazzy, Dr Malinga, Dr Sid,
Efya, Espoir 2000, Fally Ipupa, FB, Ferre Gola, Flavour, Fuse
ODG, Gangs of Ballet, Goldfish, Heavy K, Ice Prince, JD,
KCEE, Khuli Chana, LCNVL, Lizha James, Matthew Mole,
May D, Mi Casa, Michael Lowman, Nakhane Toure, Nelson
Freitas, Olamide, Oskido, Professor, The Parlotones, Phyno,
Radio and Weasel, R2bees, Sarkodie, Sauti Sol, Shortstraw,
Stanley Enow, The Arrows, Tiwa Savage, Toofan, Uhuru,
Youssoupha and Zakes Bantwini.
Check link to see the full nominations in the 15 categories